EU countries agree new copyright rules, Poland votes against


A majority of EU member countries agreed on draft rules to update two-decade-old European copyright law. The EU’s draft copyright directive was created in 2016 to give fairer pay to publishers and prevent users from uploading copyrighted materials on platforms such as YouTube and Instagram.

“Glad to see EU countries once again finding a common voice on copyright reform … I hope for a final agreement next week. Europeans deserve copyright rules fit for the digital age: it is good for creators, platforms and for regular internet users,” EU digital chief Andrus Ansip twitted.

Poland, however, has voted against the draft, jointly with seven other countries – Italy, the Netherlands, Sweden, Finland, Luxembourg, Malta, and Slovakia. Polish Ministry of Culture and National Heritage argued that the new rules may limit freedom of speech and create a risk of “automatic filtering of content that may be misused in the future”.

Pin It