UK Parliament rejects Theresa May’s Brexit deal

The UK Parliament has voted against Prime Minister Theresa May’s Brexit deal by 432 to 230 votes –the largest defeat for a sitting government in history.

MPs voted to reject the deal which sets out the terms of Britain’s exit from the EU on 29 March. Immediately after the result was announced the leader of opposition Labour party Jeremy Corbyn tabled a vote of no confidence in the government.

Parliament will debate the no-confidence vote on Wednesday and if MPs vote against May’s government, anyone who can command a majority would get 14 days to win a further confidence vote. If they can’t win that, a general election will be then held.

Pin It