11:00 12 July 2020
Post by: WBJ

Bulgaria and Croatia accepted into vestibule of euro area

The Bulgarian lev and the Croatian kuna have been included in the ERM II exchange rate mechanism, which is considered the vestibule of the euro. The EC emphasized that this decision is a milestone in the efforts of Bulgaria and Croatia to join the euro area.

Both countries must now participate in the mechanism without major tensions, and especially without devaluing their exchange rates against the euro, for at least two years before they can qualify for the single currency.

Bulgaria has aspired to enter the ERM II mechanism since mid-2018. Since then, the Bulgarian authorities have talked about the next dates for including the country in this structure, but these dates have been postponed several times. Croatia submitted a formal application to join the European monetary stabilization mechanism in July 2019.

(Business Insider


More News


2 days ago

Poles lead unhealthy lifestyle in pandemic

6 days ago

We all need to tackle climate change: report

21 days ago

Jurek Sobieniak opens new restaurant on ground floor of Grzybowska Park

29 days ago

'I hope to go on a regular tour in summer 2022': Paulla

Book of Lists

Book of Lists
6 months ago

The largest Polish companies under the Book of Lists microscope! Book of Lists 2020/2021 certificates have been awarded.

Book of Lists
1 year ago

25th jubilee edition of Book of Lists – project start